SWEET BLUE MADAM

Let me explain it to you, Lorelei.
I’m just an average guy.
A blue collar man working
long nights. Sure, I can be a
renegade at times, but I’m not
the angry young man! If you believe
that, you’re fooling yourself.
I haven’t slept since your “Dear John”
letter. It’s better if I get this off my chest.
Your beauty had me snow blind,
I’m seeing Miss America when I look
your way. I could sing for the day
I first saw you! It might have been
love at first sight; it might have been
the grand illusion. Either way, I’ve believed.
You lit up my world and curled me
around your finger. And your heart lingers.
Show me the way. I have too much time
on my hands and these are the times
it takes love. Let you and me just be!
Come sail away, or kiss (your ass) me goodbye.

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of STYX

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 16: EXPLANATORY POEM

Leave a Reply

