MERCEDES AND ME McGEE

I’ve been buried for years under work,
buried in fears, mindless thoughts.
I ought to get to choose –
neck deep, buried alive in the blues!

Working my fingers to the bone
and back, it’s the kozmic blues I lack,
my baby and me. Trust me, the old
ball and chain will gain half

of what she lays her hands upon.
I say, get it while you can!
And any day now I’m hoping to say wow!
I’m still waiting for that Mercedes Benz!

Work (with) me, Lord!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

A timeless poem based on the songs of Janis Joplin

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 11: TIMELY/TIMELESS POEMS

Leave a Reply

