INFERNAL RHYME

There is no worse verse than a rhyming thing,
I’ve heard poets sing this lament, hellbent
on squelching my belching conformance
to the parlance of same-sound words
that seem absurd to some. But, what fun
I have slaving over thesaurus and dictionary
(of such rhyming things) to bring a certain
flair to the words therein. It’s a sin to leave
those verbal stones unturned. I yearn for poems
that express, much less rhyme, serving none before its time.
And so I abide to these varmint’s vehement wishes
and dish my rhyme inside each line. End rhymes hardly
make my scene they hide inside the way I’ve dreamed.
An ode to you infernal rhyme (well hidden in internal rhyme!)

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 7: COMPULSION

Leave a Reply

