KEEP THIS BETWEEN JUST YOU & ME

From our beginnings it was just you & me.
In the old days, I was free
but, what kind of man would I be
if I failed to see that along comes a woman
and I am alive again! You are a palette bright,
just right to colour my world. You make me smile;
you have me wishing you were here! NOW!
But, love lives on and you’re the inspiration
that makes it so. I’ve been searching so long
and this strong connection does not fail.
It is hard to break a habit like you,
I’m sorry to say, it’s hard.
And if I should ever lose you, every part
of this dialogue would end;
if you leave me now, it would send
me over Niagara Falls without a barrel.
Don’t look away – stay the night, it feels right –
feelin’ stronger every day.
Call on me. Meet me. Saturday in the park,
even if it is another rainy day in New York City.
It’s twenty-five or six to forever! It’s never too late!
An between just you & me, does anybody really know
what time it is? Let’s take a lifetime to find out!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of Chicago

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 5: KEEP THIS (BLANK)

Leave a Reply

