WELL WORN

What am I gonna do?
I never give up on a dream and it seems
you are in my heart. When I start to feel
the real world’s chill, you thrill me
with this internal flame stoked by your love.
Ohh La La, what a thrill!
Do you think I’m sexy? You know
I was only joking. Have I told you lately?
I love you, Maggie. May you never get tired
of me repeating it. The wind blows like the
lilting pluck of a mandolin’s strings. It brings
us closer together, this weather.
It feels right. Tonight’s the night;
tonight, I am yours (don’t hurt me).
Your touch of love holds me in comfort,
like a piece of fleece it covers us.
It is clear to tell it is truly well worn!
Some guys have all the luck!

 

C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of Rod Stewart

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 3: BLANKET

Leave a Reply

