PUBERTY

Living a Baker’s Dozen in years, I noticed a change.
Genetics seemed to rearrange my wiring,
and I was firing like wild synapses in a manic fashion.
My passion for words found its grounding, sounding
mildly poetic in a lyrical sense. My voice
kept cracking, stacking the cards against me.
Acne was the cruelest joke, poking through;
epidermal eruptions stealing what little appeal
I may have had. It was a bad year to be
so unclear about my future, life sutured together.
I crushed on the girl next door but couldn’t get her
to know I was alive. All that jive was not too keen.
God, no one knew how I hated being thirteen!

(C) Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014
Poets United – Midweek Motif: The Number Thirteen

19 thoughts on “PUBERTY

  1. Such fine writing of a cumulatively negative year! I love what you have done with internal and end rhymes and near rhyming to make a singing cadence want to burst forth, much as the mood of the poem and tone of the narrator bursts with what needed saying. I bet every thirteen year old knew, but no one let on.

  2. “epidermal eruptions”—great description of the angst of teen acne. I love the way you used words like “grounding, sounding…..cracking, stacking” right beside each other. Makes these words have a melodic feel to them that is lovely 🙂

    1. C.C., I started writing music long before poetry (at 13, BTW) and the lyrical aspect always came bubbling to the surface. And I have a penchant for internal rhyme, so it shows as well. Thanks for the comments! 🙂

  3. I am with you, Walt. I didn’t like being 13 either. It was such an awkward year for me. It is a year I would never want to relive. It is a year I was no longer a child, but yet not grown….and oh so clumsy with life.

  4. this is a wonderful write and you’ve captivated the transitional period so nicely…both physical and mental..”My passion for words found its grounding, sounding / mildly poetic in a lyrical sense. My voice / kept cracking, stacking the cards against me.” my fav. lines 🙂

  5. You have written very evocatively about the awkwardness of being 13. Something we ought to remember when we talk to kids that age. Being a teenager is not fun for a lot of them.

  6. CC Champagne

    You so vibrantly describe the angst of that age… *shudders* Ah, nostalgia is all good and well, but who’d really want to be back there again? Brilliant write!

Leave a Reply

