STRANGER ON THE SHORE – REPRISE

Here I stand watching the tide go out.
There is no doubt your memory lives here, and I’m
So all alone and blue just dreaming dreams of you,
you linger in each moment that haunts my mind.

I watched your ship as it sailed out to sea
the gentle waves complicit in your departure.
Taking all my dreams and taking all of me,
leaving nothing but this shell of a man, unsure.

The sighing of the waves
sound like the sighs of you,
The wailing of the wind
fills my sails alone.
The tears in my eyes burn
and I yearn for on more look,
Pleading, “My love, return”,
a happy ending to our book.

Why, oh, why must I go on like this?
I hunger for your kiss, your breath of love.
Shall I just be a lonely stranger on the shore?
Darling, how I miss my angel from above.

Why, oh, why must I go on like this?
Return to me in bliss, and share our love again.
Shall I just be a lonely stranger on the shore?
Or truly a man in love to share his heart again.

**The italicized lines are the original lyrics written by Mr. Acker Bilk for his composition “Stranger on the Shore”

Remainder of lines (C) Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

POETIC ASIDES APRIL P.A.D. – DAY 26: “WATER”

 

Leave a Reply

