HOMELAND SECURITY

Lackawanna, the land I love.
Generations sought sanctuary,
and nary a day goes by that I don’t miss
the comfort of her embrace.
This home, this place, my founding,
my grounding was assured in her arms.
Safety was her offering, love was her
constant. A space on Wood Street
that was home base until Dad’s passing.
I long for her walls to enclose me,
I remember every inch of her footprint.
I carry a bit of her with me.
i carry it in my heart.

 

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014
POETIC ASIDES APRIL P.A.D. – DAY 12: CITY

Leave a Reply

