MEMBER SINCE 2009

“I wouldn’t join any club that would have me as a member.” ~ Groucho Marx

April 2009.
I was fine with keeping my words to myself,
stacked of a shelf or stash in a file.
I smile at that now.
How can one stifle their own voice?
It was a personal choice, one I’ve regretted.
I forget all that now.
I wrote lyrics. I penned plays.
I stayed in my comfort zone and didn’t poem.
Not really. Not seriously. Not since High School.
Now I see what a fool I had been.
I said it would be a sin to waste this skill,
I didn’t know the thrill of an expressive heart.
So when I found there was a poetry challenge,
a poem-a-day during April, I gave it a go.
Once the floodgates open, I was just fine.
Writing poems since 2009.

 

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

POETIC ASIDES APRIL P.A.D. 2014 – DAY 4: SINCE (BLANK)

One thought on “MEMBER SINCE 2009

Leave a Reply

