I HAVEN’T GONE THERE SINCE

Home should never roam,
it should be a foundation,
our plantation where we staked our claim,
and wore our name proudly

We ran the neighborhood a bit loudly,
but respect was always the rule by which we lived.
I would give anything to be back there again.
But it is no longer ours, and I haven’t gone there since.

Memories like curses flood in torrent streams,
and dreams of that place being our sanctuary were nary in doubt.
But we lost our clout when Dad passed on.
It’s gone, and I haven’t gone there since.

We were nine, and we were fine with it. Our family home
well known for the brood three generations strong, I had belonged
to my grandfather, was my mother’s home and our domain.
It’s emblazoned in my brain, and I haven’t gone there since.

They say it has changed. A fenced fortress where once we ran free.
A flowerless clod of dirt where once all the beauties of earth sprouted.
I always doubted it would never be ours. But life happened quick,
it makes me sick and wince, and I haven’t gone there since.

Surely, we all grow up and move on to worlds of our own, but the protection
of our connection to those faces and that place were yanked from our grasp
in one fell swoop. I remember a happy place, with all our cramped space
it brought us closer and I haven’t gone there since.

If for one day I could just go back to Wood,
I would reclaim it in our name again, an old friend back in our embrace.
It would be good to see that place. There is no disgrace in longing,
it was our sense of belonging, and I haven’t gone there since.

 

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

POETIC ASIDES APRIL P.A.D. 2014 – DAY 4: SINCE (BLANK)

Leave a Reply

