HOMEWARD BOUND

My train has yet to arrive,
and I’ve a ticket in hand
I stand in wait.
My destination beckons.
Sadly, I’ve taken too many nights
one day at a time.
A suitcase below and my guitar in tow,
with my itinerary full; I’m in demand!
It’s great for a poet/one man band

But I’m tired; I want to go home –
my thoughts escape me,
my music plays,
my love life waits for me, in silence.

It never ends;
caffeine and books tide me over.
It un-nerves me; perturbs me.
Cookie cutter towns where ever I go,
dingy buildings with smoke billows,
and marquees showing oldies.
The faces of strangers distract me,
they remind me I need to be homeward bound.

I just wish I was home.
My thoughts escape me,
my music plays,
my love life stays in wait for me, in silence.

So at night, I write my rhymes again.
I hate this game, but I’ll defend
all my words, they come back to me
from my chest, mediocre at best.
There is no harmony in life’s void
and I’m so annoyed; I need some comfort.

Homeward. I’m bound to go,
I just wish I was home.
My thoughts escape me,
my music plays,
my love life stays in wait for me, in silence.

(C) Coryright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

Inspiration drawn from “Homeward Bound” by Simon and Garfunkle

 

POETIC ASIDES APRIL PAD – DAY 2: TRAVEL

Leave a Reply

