CRITICAL CONDITION

The results from the lab were in, but they could not detect any regret in my voice. It had been my choice to stand by you; friends together, a second chance for us to right what so often had gone  wrong, one last time. Taking note of your fragility and your need for constant rest, the best I could do was to care for you and be true to our connection for your protection and my own. My conscience would not allow me to make that same mistake, where I took leave of my senses and you. Translated: your illness made me sick.

The SUNDAY WHIRL -  Wordle #117
The SUNDAY WHIRL –
Wordle #117

Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik 2013

Written for THE SUNDAY WHIRL – Wordle #117

Offered at POETS UNITED – Poetry Pantry #158

19 thoughts on “CRITICAL CONDITION

  1. Very sad when someone else’s illness makes one sick, Walt. But it is nice to think of a friend standing with someone through ‘thick and through thin.’

  2. I have waited with friends and family members as they faced the end of life. It’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Good use of the words, Walt.

  3. magicalmysticalteacher

    I know, I probably shouldn’t have, but I laughed out loud at that last line. I’m sure you didn’t intend for that to happen, but it did, and I thank you for this evening’s laughter. Really! 🙂

  4. I knew an older couple. They had more than a few rough spots, but when the wife became ill…he did indeed ‘stand by her’.

    Yes, compassion – a very good word.
    Thanks for your visit.

Leave a Reply

