You piqued my interest standing there,
and in that instant I was aware.
I knew you existed,
there was music in your voice.
your red hair braided; twisted,
you were the perfect choice.
I loved the way your hips did sway,
when you went walking by.
and every day you’ve been away
I’m left to wonder why.
The day we met stays with me,
I wish that you could know,
You’ve left your heart here with me,
You had me at hello!

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

Written to prompt for NaPoWriMo 2013 – Day 17 Greeting

4 thoughts on “YOU HAD ME AT HELLO

  1. Walt, when you show that romantic side, we women surely appreciate it! The line, “You had me at hello,” is used quite a bit, but never in this manner, as a monologue directed at a woman you’re waiting to see again. Luscious fun! Thx for commenting at SLP. too! Amer

  2. Thanks Claudette, Amy. I suspect we’ve all been broken enough to know how good the salve feels that allows us to heal. The “romantic” angle is merely knowing that feeling. And I appreciate that you women appreciate it! You’ve come to know “my heart is true”.

Leave a Reply

